A New Home

Bighorn- Eight

The season of autumn arrived with a big shift on the planet. I’ve been reading the stories on Facebook, in newsletters, and in personal emails of the many “new” events in so many people’s lives. The week leading up to the autumn equinox turned out to be a time of endings and completion with a great release from all that was no longer serving us. It was as if certain situations and relationships that were no longer in alignment with our selves needed to end. In some cases, the ending was quite abrupt and surprising, but for others, it was a gradual realization that they needed to let go and release certain people, places and things from their lives.

In my own life, this summer has been one of the most intense, life-changing seasons. At the beginning of this year, I had no idea that I would be embarking on this new path. As I released and let go of places and things, it was as if I was letting go of how I had been living my life. The structure of my life was changing, and as I let go of each house, and its subsequent contents, I felt myself letting go of old parts of my Self that no longer were in alignment with the new life that I was creating.

I wouldn’t say it’s been easy, and the letting go continues each and every day. Yet, I feel that I am getting closer to leading the life that I am meant to live right now in this moment. Last week, my husband sold his family homes on Wilbur’s Point in Fairhaven, MA that had been in his family for over 50 years. His parents, and his grandparents had spent many a summer there, and eventually moved there full-time before they passed away. The homes were filled with memories, and special times by the sea. The letting go for my husband, and his brothers wasn’t easy, but it turned out to be the only choice for them.

Last week, on September 16, the new owners moved into those homes. As we packed up the last remaining items, the new owners carried in boxes, pillows, and decorations for their new home. It felt surreal like I was literally watching the old move out, and the new move in right before my eyes. In that moment, the change felt abrupt and swift, but as I walked away there was no turning back. There was no last moment to say good-bye. I had been saying good-bye all summer, and handing over the keys was just another release from the home, and the past.

After so many weeks of preparation, and work to sell the homes, I wanted to be quiet and contemplative. I walked on the beach behind my childhood home (which my sister is going to be buying in the near future.) I felt so tired, and drained from the letting go. I had stepped into this in between place. And yet, there was now an opening in my life. My home in California was gone, and these family homes were now sold. I was truly home-free for the first time in many years.

My husband and I had an idea of our next step, but we were going to take our time to look for that next home. And yet, the universe had other plans in mind for us. As we walked along the Cape Cod Canal, we happened upon a campground there called the Bourne Scenic Park. Perched right on the canal, it offers a great view of the water, and all the boats passing by. We decided to walk around the park, and look at all the RVs. As I walked along, I noticed one right near the water with a small “For Sale” sign on it. My husband was looking the other way, and even sat down to adjust his shoe. I decided to copy down the information on the sign, and walked around the Bighorn RV, but no one seemed to be there. The next day, we even talked to a company in Kansas about an RV for sale that we had been looking at for quite a while. After that call, we decided to call up the owners of the Bighorn RV. They happened to be there, and invited us to come by that afternoon.

After seeing the RV two days in a row, we made an offer, and bought our new mobile home. In less than a week, we went from having no home to a whole new kind of home. I still can’t believe how quickly the universe worked its magic. And that seems to be the case for many people.

If you can let go of what is no longer serving you, then you are opening up a door to what it is that you really want in your lives. If you can allow yourself to entertain the idea of doing what you really want to be doing in your life – not what others expect you to do, and not what you feel you should be doing. But really think about what inspires you? What do you really feel passionate about? What and who do you want in your life right now? The more you can open up to these questions, and ask for the guidance from the universe, then the signs will begin to show up, and all you have to do is follow them.

I am continually amazed by how quickly the changes can come through. In the coming month of October, there will be even more new beginnings on the horizon. Follow your heart, and you will be guided to those new paths opening up for you now.

By Donna Fisher-Jackson, M.A. © 2014

Please feel free to copy this news article, and to share it with others for Free. I just ask that you keep my name at the bottom of the article, and include this line of text: Donna Fisher-Jackson, M.A., CHT is a Certified Hypnotherapist, Western Astrologer and Author who counsels clients through her business of Iris Holistic Counseling Services at http://www.DonnaFisherJackson.com. She has published the self-help book, The Healing Path of the Romantic: Type Four of the Enneagram Personality Type System and a novel, Clara & Irving: A Love Story of Past Lives, based on the true story of a Romantic. Both books are available in a print and Kindle edition on Amazon.com. ♥

About Donna Fisher-Jackson

After traveling for three years around the country in her Bighorn RV, Donna Fisher-Jackson, MA, CHT now makes her home on Cape Cod, Massachusetts. She is still a part-time RVer, and her latest book, "Living the RV Lifestyle: Practical Advice and Personal Tales from Life on the Road" is available on Amazon. For seventeen years, she lived in Northern California where she pursued studies in Western Astrology, Holistic Counseling, Hypnotherapy and Past-Life Regression. Donna completed certification in Astrological Counseling with the Astrology Institute West in the San Francisco Bay area. During her time in the Bay area, she also graduated with an M.A. in Counseling Psychology specializing in Holistic Studies from John F. Kennedy University in Northern California. Her counseling business, Iris Holistic Counseling Services, began in 1999. In her counseling work, she shares the insights of Hypnotherapy, the Enneagram, Dreamwork, Western Astrology and the Mythic Tarot. She specializes in life transitions, relationship issues, mid-life, career/vocation and life purpose.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment