On the Road

Tree-lined driveway

In about six weeks’ time, I will be starting my new lifestyle on the road. I have been waking up over the years in homes where I have lived from 17 years to 4 years, 10 years to 6 years, and recently 10 years again. But in the coming year, I will be moving all around this amazing country, and literally and figuratively waking up in different places from a month to a few weeks, and in some places, just a one night-stand.

Honestly, I am anxious about this journey on the road. I waver between excitement to what was I thinking?! I am traveling with my new RV home. Like a turtle with his shell on his back, I am bringing my home with me. It will be my only home. I don’t have a home to go back to. This is it – my turtle shell. I am sharing this shell with my husband who happens to be a Cancer, the sun sign of the crab. I think he may be more comfortable with this idea of living in a shell. I am a Libra, and enjoy living in a peaceful and beautiful space. I am certain that I will find some of those spaces on the road, but then I wonder about those nights, spent in the Walmart parking lot, or a mere several miles away from the Mardi Gras celebration of New Orleans. Will I find peace and beauty in those moments?! Or will I have to dig deep once again into my personal tools and resources, and remember to be present with all that is happening and unfolding around me in the moment.

In this coming year, I know I will be challenged and stretched to my breaking point at times. I also know that I will be held spellbound by the immensity and beauty of this great country that I live in. From the rolling, emerald hills, to the stark, sandy deserts, and from the Atlantic to the Pacific, and everything in between, I know I will be marveling at the scenery of this country. I know I will treasure those simple moments of having breakfast in a diner in the Midwest, to eating alfresco by the gulf. I will relish hearing all those different accents, and laugh when they try to pinpoint my own accent when they see the South Dakota plates on my vehicles.

In time, I will find a way to share my story of where I came from, and how I ended up on this cross-country journey, feeling too young to be considered a retiree, and too old to be traveling around the country to find myself. I have spent years finding myself, and know that it has nothing to do with where you’re living, or who you’re living with. That journey is definitely an inner journey, and the one, I will be taking this coming year is an outer journey, but who knows?! It may be a combination of both.

Next time, I write this blog. I will be getting ready to head south, leaving New England behind, and making my way down the east coast. I hope to write more often once I am on the road, sharing my insights and glimpses of my new life. I also hope to meet up with some of you wherever you may be living around the country. Please let me know when I am close to your home, and we can meet up on the road. In the meantime, I hope your holidays are awakening. Next time I write, I will be Living the Awakened Life on the Road.

By Donna Fisher-Jackson, M.A. © 2014

Please feel free to copy this news article, and to share it with others for Free. I just ask that you keep my name at the bottom of the article, and include this line of text: Donna Fisher-Jackson, M.A., CHT is a Certified Hypnotherapist, Western Astrologer and Author who counsels clients through her business of Iris Holistic Counseling Services at http://www.DonnaFisherJackson.com  She has published the self-help book, The Healing Path of the Romantic: Type Four of the Enneagram Personality Type System and a novel, Clara & Irving: A Love Story of Past Lives, based on the true story of a Romantic. Both books are available in a print and Kindle edition on Amazon.com. ♥

About Donna Fisher-Jackson

Donna Fisher-Jackson, MA, CHT has been traveling around the United States and Canada in her tiny home - a 39 foot Fifth Wheel Bighorn RV since 2014. Her new book, "Living the RV Lifestyle: Practical Advice and Personal Tales from Life on the Road" is now available on Amazon. She continues to do her counseling work on the road. For seventeen years, she lived in Northern California where she pursued studies in Western Astrology, Holistic Counseling, Hypnotherapy and Past-Life Regression. Donna completed certification in Astrological Counseling with the Astrology Institute West in the San Francisco Bay area. During her time in the Bay area, she also graduated with an M.A. in Counseling Psychology specializing in Holistic Studies from John F. Kennedy University in Northern California. Her counseling business, Iris Holistic Counseling Services, began in 1999. In her counseling work, she shares the insights of Hypnotherapy, the Enneagram, Dreamwork, Western Astrology and the Mythic Tarot. She specializes in life transitions, relationship issues, mid-life, career/vocation and life purpose.
This entry was posted in Traveling cross country and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On the Road

  1. Frank Dorr says:

    Best of luck to you and Jim. My thoughts and prayers will be with you as you experience life the way it should be lived!!!

    Regards. Frank

Leave a Reply

