Time to Reflect

RV Desk in Coalville, Utah

From the window of my Bighorn RV, I can see cars, tractor trailers, and other mobile homes flashing by on Highway 80, heading East and West across this great expanse of a country.  I’ve driven parts of that highway from California, and all the way to the east coast.  I know the small towns that sit alongside that freeway. I am in one of those small towns now, just for the summer – Holiday Hills, a truck stop RV park where people camp for one night on their way to one of the national parks; or spend the week-end, escaping their lives in the city for a quiet respite by the river.

Now, I sit, gazing out at all those vehicles passing by.   These past two years, I’ve been on so many highways that sometimes I still sway back and forth like a person who gets off a ship after a long sea journey.  For now, I am staying put in the Holiday Hills in Utah for the summer, with only short drives on 80.  As much as I relish the time being in one place, I also like knowing that the highway is right outside my door.  If I miss life on the road, I can jump in my car, and head east for Wyoming, or west for the bigger cities of Park City and Salt Lake City.  I could also drive right back to my old hometown of Grass Valley, California in the foothills of the Sierra Nevada Mountains.

If anyone had told me that after all these months I would still be traveling around the country, I would have thought they were crazy.  And yet, here I am two years after selling my California dream home, living in an RV which has become my only home with my husband, Jim, and our traveling cat, Zeus.

I still miss my California home – a sprawling contemporary house with loads of windows, and a redwood deck all across the back of the house.  The cathedral ceilings in the house, and the view of the foothills in the distance, fed my desire for lofty places.  In that home, I wrote two books, and had a home-based counseling practice for seven years.

What I miss most is my dream office that Jim helped me to create in that home.  After walking through the mahogany front door, French doors opened to the left into my office.  My oak desk faced a wall with book shelves all around me.  A cozy gas fireplace warmed the space on chilly winter days.   A table for two sat by the arched window for intimate astrology and tarot card readings while a plush recliner invited clients to reflect on their current lives or take past life journeys.

In my current Bighorn RV, I’ve re-created a sacred space for my work.  I have a walnut-stained wooden desk perched in front of double windows with a corner window by my side.  The view outside my window is a changing landscape even when I am stationary. There are mobile homes coming and going, and trucks sliding up to the gas pumps, or parking for a longer break at the Best Western next door.  On my desk, I have some of my favorite objects – a crystal, faceted heart that a friend gave me when I published my book on the Type Four, the Romantic along with a simple framed quote from another friend encircled with purple Irises, reminding me of the value of friendship and my love for those stately purple flowers.  A gold-framed photograph captures the underwater beauty of a nude woman floating in a sea of purple with a swirl of gold embracing her.  The picture is entitled, “Lost Equilibrium” – an apt description of my time on the road.

Being an astrologer and a Libra, I am well aware of my need for a sense of balance in my life. In the past, I treasured my daily routine, and the peaceful harmony that I created in my home sanctuary.   Since beginning this journey around the country, I have found my equilibrium tested in so many ways.

My daily life has become more like an improvisational jazz piece zigzagging in all directions.  As I try to keep some of my comforting routines of meditation, reading inspirational books, journaling and daily exercise; I find myself, having to relinquish one or all of these grounding habits of mine.  Depending on the day, whether it was a travel day, or one of those one night stops, I might only be able to fit in one or two daily rituals. In this life on the road, I have cut down to the barebones of what is really important as far as rituals, and also in material possessions.

A gifted writer and spiritual teacher, Meghan Don wrote recently in her newsletter about her own experience with the ownership of the material in this life.

Meghan Don wrote, “Over the last couple of weeks I have been shown that nothing I own is mine, nothing at all. They are all as divine gifts coming and going as are needed. There is no need for grasping onto, nor fearing their replacement if they are let go. Even with all my traveling and having so few material possessions I have noticed a very subtle attachment to a small portion of my life – maintaining an independence apart from my divine nature – and ultimately keeping it in another compartment that “I” manage!

I have always known the flow of the divine energy in my life, and that everything came from this divine flow, but somehow there was still this little part that had claimed ownership of certain things given.”

I can relate to what Meghan is writing about, having given up so many material possessions when I left California, and again in Massachusetts.  At first, I felt the loss of all those objects especially all of my books, and then I began to realize that I had read all of those books.  I had experienced the wisdom of all those books, and that I really only needed a chosen few to take with me on the road.  The rest of the books, I sold, donated or gifted to others.  The material will always come and go.  The material is only energy that flows in and out of our lives.  If we’re not attached to those things, we do get to experience them as gifts when they do show up when they are needed.

I love how Meghan ended her newsletter with the thought, “We are all wealthy in so many ways, and perhaps most of all when we remember that we too ‘belong’ to the divine. May we bask in this knowledge and allow all gifts of every spiritual and material nature to come our way, resisting all urges to make them ‘mine.’”   Thanks Meghan for sharing those thoughts.

When her new book, The New Divine Feminine: Spiritual Evolution for A Woman’s Soul comes out in August, I will enjoy reading it, and then passing along the wisdom to others.  (If you’d like to pre-order a copy, go to Amazon.com.)

May you savor the many gifts that come your way this Summer.

By Donna Fisher-Jackson, M.A. © 2016
Donna Fisher-Jackson, M.A., CHT is a Certified Hypnotherapist, Western Astrologer and Author who counsels clients through her business of Iris Holistic Counseling Services on the road at http://www.DonnaFisherJackson.com. She has published the self-help book, The Healing Path of the Romantic: Type Four of the Enneagram Personality Type System and a novel, Clara & Irving: A Love Story of Past Lives, based on the true story of a Romantic. Both books are available in a print and Kindle edition on Amazon.com.  Donna is currently working on a new book – a travel memoir of her life on the road.  ♥

 

About Donna Fisher-Jackson

Donna Fisher-Jackson, MA, CHT has been traveling around the United States and Canada in her tiny home - a 39 foot Fifth Wheel Bighorn RV since 2014. Her new book, "Living the RV Lifestyle: Practical Advice and Personal Tales from Life on the Road" is now available on Amazon. She continues to do her counseling work on the road. For seventeen years, she lived in Northern California where she pursued studies in Western Astrology, Holistic Counseling, Hypnotherapy and Past-Life Regression. Donna completed certification in Astrological Counseling with the Astrology Institute West in the San Francisco Bay area. During her time in the Bay area, she also graduated with an M.A. in Counseling Psychology specializing in Holistic Studies from John F. Kennedy University in Northern California. Her counseling business, Iris Holistic Counseling Services, began in 1999. In her counseling work, she shares the insights of Hypnotherapy, the Enneagram, Dreamwork, Western Astrology and the Mythic Tarot. She specializes in life transitions, relationship issues, mid-life, career/vocation and life purpose.
This entry was posted in Traveling cross country and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

